The day of Love

15 Feb

Dear readers,

Happy Valentine’s day!

What do you have in mind on February 14?
Roses? A box of chocolate? Candlelight dinner?
How many of us often think that Valentine’s day means a boyfriend-girlfriend’s day?

Earlier this morning, I talked with my Brazilian friend, Rafael. I was so surprised when he told me that Feb 14 is not the Brazilian Valentine’s day. Their Valentine’s day is on June 12 which is called “Dia Dos Namorados” (Day of Boyfriend/Girlfriend). It’s weird, because I thought before that Feb 14 is the official lovey-dovey date, when cupid works all day long. Guess that I was wrong!

Some friends of mine looked so excited about spending their valentine’s day with their loved ones, while some others hope that the dreadful day will pass quickly. The singles often complained about how sucks it is to spend valentine’s day without a partner, while the taken ones are gladly welcoming the day of love. And anyhow, I’ve been thinking all day, “is it really only about romantic love? could people spend valentine’s happily without a boyfriend/girlfriend?”

Earlier in the morning :
V : whats the plan for valentine?
G : nothing. hehehe. being alone😛 u?
V : final interview at *****😦 no valentine at all
G : aww
V : pretend that I’m single. I really want a candlelit dinner, but won’t have one. again.
G : maybe next valentine?
V : future goes first😛

I spent my valentine’s day with a final interview with the big company I was looked forward to join with. I’ve been rushing into GITE (General Introduction to Teaching English) course and all the selection test over 2 weeks. Moving from one place to another, shifting my energy from one event to another, having farewell parties with my friends, etc, and I was thinking whether I could have a normal valentine’s day this year. It turned out, it’s still abnormal, LOL😀

Although I didn’t spend my valentine’s day with one significant other, I can still gratefully put smile on my face. I tried to look Val’s day in a bigger picture, started with seeing love from out of the box.

I didn’t get any chocolate, no roses, but I’m so glad that I gave some chocolates to my closed ones.
I didn’t have a fancy candlelit dinner, but I’m so happy to have a dinner with my parents.
I didn’t get any lovely date, but I’m so lucky to get a lucrative job that I was interested in.
I didn’t have a romantic valentine’s day, but I’m so thankful that I AM LOVED!

Someone said to me,
“it is not about the day, not about the date written on the calendar, it is about the moment”

Beyond all those pinky lovey stuff, whether you are single or taken, every single day is a day of love, not just the valentine’s day. It doesn’t have to be on Feb 14 to show your love to someone. It doesn’t need to be historical to share your care. It doesn’t always about lovers. Love is meant for everyone and valid for every time. Take your time on valentine’s day, to consider whether you have really understood and honored the love itself? or is it just another day to throw some bucks for a historical public tradition?

How to make your valentine’s day a little more memorable :
1. HUG at least 5 people.
2. GIVE CHOCOLATES to at least your 5 closed friends and see how surprised they are🙂
3. KISS your kitty/dog/hamster.
4. COOK special meals for your parents.
5. SMILE sincerely to 5 random people.
6. SHARE some chocolates or roses to beggars or street kids
(you’ll feel so good once you see the smiles on their face)

It is not about you, who RECEIVED the LOVE of the day; It is about you ,who GIVE the LOVE of the day.

So, how’s your valentine’s day going?

I hope you’ll have a lovely one, and oh please do remember, whether you are single or taken :
YOU ARE LOVED!!!😀

lots of love,

Ƹ̵̡Ӝ̵̨̄Ʒ

3 Responses to “The day of Love”

  1. yoke cantikk February 15, 2011 at 8:24 pm #

    I LOVE YOUU !! =3

  2. Belinda February 22, 2011 at 1:10 am #

    YOU ARE LOVED! ahay this one remind me about one of Josh Groban song. that a good one :0)

    Btw anyway hey that’s a good tips for spending time somewhere with or without companion.
    😀

    • Vanessa February 22, 2011 at 7:04 pm #

      thanks ka belu! You are loved too!🙂 With or without a companion, we could always be content🙂

Leave a Reply

