It is well with my soul

29 Nov

In the midst of dullness, life is beautiful in its own special way. That is what I believe (and keep reminding myself over and over again everytime I hesitate). Each passing day, I’m grateful to find a thing or two that makes me smile (or at least feel better).

With only 4.5 hours sleep, I woke up this morning lazily. Tired, super sleepy, and so much tempted to pull up my blanket. As usual, I can’t fall to the temptation (although, I wish I could!). I had an appointment to go to church with my friend, and a lady never takes back her words (ha!). I have so many tasks to accomplish today, but last night I felt the urge to rest my soul for a while in a Sunday service.

Christmas atmosphere radiated, by the time I walked in. Christmas tree, Advent candles, mistletoe… The service was different this time. It’s so simple and humble, yet amazingly beautiful. A piano and an acoustic guitar, played by a very blessed American couple, brought us together to a moment of peace with God. One song to another song went on… Mr.Lewis invited us to take a moment of silence in prayer, while he sang a song softly, with his wife played the piano. As he sang it, I felt like every word of it was talking to my terrified soul tenderly.

The song is simple, direct, and it still resounds in me until now. It’s a beautiful song and somehow it lighten my tough day. I would like to share it and hope that it could also help brighten your day.🙂

The River-Carman
It doesn’t matter who you are
It doesn’t matter where you’ve been
It doesn’t matter what the scar
It doesn’t matter what the sin
It doesn’t matter how you fell
‘Cause somewhere along the way
There’s healing for your life today

There’s a river that flows
From the fountain of God
And it heals everything along the way
I have tasted and known
That for every broken heart
There is healing in Jesus’ name

He looks beyond how far you’ve gone
He looks beyond how you were hurt
He looks beyond who stole your song
He looks beyond what made it worse
He looks beyond where others failed
To reach out to you and say
There’s healing for your life today

There’s a huge mountain in front of me that I have to climb, and with my limited power, I know that I can’t do this alone. My faith is shaking and I’m running out of strength. All my life, He’s been faithful to me and strengthen me when I’m weary. So now, I want to trust my soul and let Him heal my weariness. It is well, it is well with my soul🙂

”For I, the Lord your God, will hold your right hand, Saying to you, ‘Fear not, I will help you.” – Isaiah 41:13

Vness

Leave a Reply

