I’m not growing old, just growing-up!

5 Jul

June 30th 2010

Morning
I woke up lazily (I’m not a morning person, and there isn’t any exceptional).
I looked into my mailbox and facebook.
I read and replied those “happy birthday” greetings.
I thought,”I’m 22 y/o, I’m old! Another age added into my life, another responsibility and matters added too”
I prayed,”God, thanks for blessing me during 21 years of my life. Thanks for trusting me another year of life.”
I got a phone call, decided to go to Universiteit Twente Open House with my best friend, Rinda.
Mood : a bit gloomy (my close friends were out of town, my parents haven’t called me yet), a bit sad, a bit lonely

Afternoon
I attended that open house, decided to apply to that Uni next year.
I had lunch in Kafe Batu with Rinda, I had a teppanyaki & fettuccine alfredo. (Chinese belief that on your birthday, you have to eat noodles or something like noodles, so you’ll have a long life. I’m a Chinese descendant, so I had Fettuccine😛 )
I went to Ciwalk, hung out, home.
I thought,”gosh, I have a mid exam tomorrow, gotta study”
I took a nap for 30 mins.
Mood : so-so, a little tired and sleepy

Evening
I studied with a friend in the study room.
Suddenly,
Jess, one of my housemates : “Ness !! I think, I got a stomach ache.. (she looked painful). Do you have any pills or anything to get this a little bit better?”
I stopped writing : “Yeah, come with me.” (gave her a pills)
Jess : “I don’t want this one. Do you have any with mint flavour?”
Me : “No I don’t. C’mon just swallow it, it helps a lot” (I gave a her a cup of water)
Jess :” I need another cup of water”
I glared at her, thought why wouldn’t she took it by herself. I filled another cup of water and ……………….

“happy birthday to you,
happy birthday to you,
happy birthday, happy birthday,
happy birthday to you”

There, in front of my opened-door, my close friends were standing, singing the birthday anthem, and carrying a birthday cake with candles and butterfly decoration.

I was speechless for a minute or two, then realized that I was fooled by them, so they could threw me a surprise.

I was REALLY surprised.

They woke up early that day and traveled from another town (I saw their luggage outside my room and their exhausted faces).

I was also surprised when a friend of mine, oh well, a French teacher actually, Nicolas😛 gave me a link with his voice recorded and a french song. I hardly recognized all the sentences, just : “bonjour Vanessa, bla bla bla, Joyeux Anniversaire” (désolée, Nicolas, je te dit, je ne suis pas bon à l’écoute, hehe).
The song titled : L’amitié ( Friendship).
Here is the link, if you want to listen :

That was really thoughtful. Merci beaucoup, Nicolas. J’ai été surpris, haha😀

The song L’amitié said,
“S’il me reste un ami qui vraiment me comprenne
J’oublierai à la fois mes larmes et mes peines”

Well, Je pense, Il est vrai.

Time flies, it’s another birthday of mine.
Lots of things happened in my 21, both good and bad.

Every mistakes I did, made me learned something.
Every decisions I took, made me who I am now.
Every consequences I bear, made me able to see things clearly.

Parfois, je peux penser que ma vie n’est pas parfaite, mais je me trompe.
Being happy doesn’t mean that everything is perfect.
It means that you’ve decided to look beyond the imperfections.
🙂

People asked me about my birthday wishes, and um, I wish three things :

Wisdom. Maturity. Courage.

Growing up is never easy. You hold on to things that were. You wonder what’s to come. But that night, I think we knew it was time to let go of what had been, and look ahead to what would be. Other days. New days. Days to come.

MOOD : Extremely Joyful 🙂

Vness

One Response to “I’m not growing old, just growing-up!”

  1. yoke July 7, 2010 at 7:30 pm #

    huaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa…sayang ga bisa ikuuuuuuuuuud, huhu.

Leave a Reply

