Can we have more than “ONE”?

11 Apr

Soulmate : A soulmate is a person with whom one has a feeling of deep and natural affinity, love, intimacy, sexuality, spirituality, and/or compatibility. A related concept is that of the twin flame or twin soul – which is thought to be the ultimate soulmate, the one and only other half of one’s soul, for which all souls are driven to find and join. However, not everyone who uses these terms intends them to carry such mystical connotations. (taken from wikipedia)

Soulmate :noun informal a person, esp. of the opposite sex, with whom one has a deeply personal relationship (taken from yourdictionary.com)

Whatever the definition is, does soul-mate really exist? Do we have one? Or could we have more than one?

This “soul-mate” stuffs have been haunting me for years, and i’m still questioning do I have one?
One night, I read someone’s story from Paulo Coelho’s blog, here is her story and opinion about “soulmate” dilemma :

“I was 18 when i have met this man. The first time that i laid eyes on him i have felt that it was it! His eyes seem to sparkle and there was an unexplainable connection between us. The moment we talked, it was simply it. I felt complete and whole. Like i needed no one else. I concluded that he was my soulmate and the one i am to spend the rest of my life with. I knew he felt the same.

But then everything started going crazy. We fight most of the time and the thing that is keeping us together was because we are crazily in love with each other. What was bad turned into worst. This relationship turned into my worst nightmare! And believing he was my soulmate, i have turned blind on the reality. I have loved him more than myself and he became my whole universe and thus ended up in each other’s suffocation. After 4 years of pain. It was finally over.

I am 23 and i am in a relationship once again. One that is entirely different with the one i used to have. I have met him after my terrible heartbreak and just when i have found and redeemed myself. I feel complete but still i feel me. It’s a more mature kind of love…One that is selfless, understanding and forgiving. When you love someone with all your heart, it sets you free. Because you never expect anything in return, the result is just pure bliss. I love him and yet i manage not to lose myself because you only learn to love someone once you have managed to love yourself. I felt that everything was destined just as we compliment each other’s strengths and flaws. It was like we were a puzzle made to fit perfectly with each other.

But my past has never left my heart. I have never forgotten about him. And it feels crazy how i used to feel complete with him because love is just so different this time. It seems as if there is still a part of me for him although i am totally in love with the man i am with now. Our memories seemed eternal and it just feels like a different person that used to love him. Like our past are just merely stories to be pondered on.

It feels strange. I do feel like i am with my real soulmate this time but i know that what i have felt in the past were real as well. Like that spark in his eyes when i first saw him. But the thing is, i am the person i am now because of the hardships i have encountered from him. And i compliment my partner now because the new me has learned how to love well. If i haven’t met that first guy, my relationship now wouldn’t have lasted and it wouldn’t be as perfect as it was now. It feels as if everything is destined to happen (by : Katrina Abagatnan)”

So, what do you think? The story was similar to mine, the difference is just I haven’t summed up the soulmate stuffs, or lets say I haven’t “met” him yet😛 and still questioning, “how do I know that the one who’s with me now is my soulmate???”😀 alrite, that’s just my jammed brain

Whatever it is,

Love can take us to heaven or hell, but it always takes us somewhere (quoting Paulo Coelho)

Cheers,
Vness

Leave a Reply

